What is ASAP?


ASAP was developed with funding from the Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities Kikenomaga Kikenjigewen Employment & Training Services (KKETS) Aboriginal Skills AdvancementProgram (ASAP) is a one of a kind education and training program designed for Matawa First Nations Community members.

Download the ASAP Application Form



ASAP is specifically aimed at adult learners aged 22 and older. The program is 10 months in length and includes academic upgrading, a high school diploma program, and links participants to their future career and employment goals.


The ASAP program provides Completion of Ontario Secondary School Diploma (OSSD), Employment Readiness Training, Life Skills Training, Basic Employment certification, Connections to further your post-secondary education, specialized training and training goals ASAPP participants are provided with full wraparound team support including:


Academic Supports

Transitional, emotional, social and cultural supports

On-Site Elder


Successes of ASAP

During the Pilot years (Oct. 29th – March 31st 2014) 101 Matawa First Nation Members enrolled into the adult high school education program; 61% completed with an Ontario Secondary School Diploma OSSD. Many of the 62 OSSD holders have now gone on to pursue post -secondary education, employment or have gone into trades training through Ring of Fire Aboriginal Training Alliance (RoFATA).


Due to the success of the Pilot project, ASAP was granted approval from the Ministry of Training Colleges and Universities (MTCU) for their renewal submission and as such KKETS continues to offer the ASAP program to another 100 Matawa First Nation Adult Learners for April 1st 2014 to March 31st, 2015.


The first cohort of 47 Adult learners began on May 12, 2014 and the second cohort of 37 adult learners began on July 2nd 2015, the remaining 16 students will start early September 2014.


Graduates from the First Cohort of ASAP Adult Learners (Oct.29th – March 31st 2014)


Neskantaga First Nation

Angela Sakanee

Darren Sakanee

Tracey Wapoose

Aroland First Nation:

Neskantaga First Nation

Angela Sakanee

Darren Sakanee

Tracey Wapoose

Marten Falls First Nation

Samuel Achneepineskum

Charlie Mcguire

Nibinamik First Nation

Eveleen Atlookan

Alden Beaver

Gregory Nishinapaise

Lydia Oskineegish

Elijah Sugarhead

Sherilyn Wabasse

Webequie First Nation

Edgar Jacob

Karl Jacob

Richard Jacob

Marlene Shewaybick

Alvin Wabasse

Ryan Wabasse

Long Lake #58 First Nation

Arnold Fisher

Candace Towegeshig

Daniel (Mike) Williams

Misty Dore

Eabametoong First Nation

Danielle Baxter

Wanda Boyce

Brad Head

Norine Keesitay

Bruce Meeseetawageesic

Garnet Okeese

Don Ostamas

Gavin Slipperjack

Rudy Slipperjack

Joshua Wapoose

Flora Waswa

Bruce Yellowhead

Kelly Yellowhead

Ginoogaming First Nation

Shelby Charles

Larry Taylor

Constance Lake First Nation

Isaiah Achneepineskum

Derek Sutherland

Wayne Taylor

Marten Falls First Nation

Samuel Achneepineskum

Charlie Mcguire